Adieu Dr. Bassey Obono


Dr. Bassey Obono

Today the 6th of July should have been a day we all celebrated in my neighborhood. This year, we Can’t. My brother @seunbule writes here and tells us why.

Dr. Bassey Obono, my best friend, my brother and my colleague.

Everyday i wake up, i always thank God that i experienced what it is to have a friend who really understood the word ‘friendship’ and what it entailed.

The sad events of January 31st, 2011 have deprived me of this, i have chosen not cry despite the fact that the thought of you leaving still makes tears fill my eyes. I have chosen rather to remember the good times we shared as close friends.

Our childhood days in National Orthopaedic Hospital will forever remain cherished in my heart.

We were one big family with the with the Enadeghes, Tijanis, Onubogus, Akpamas, popoolas, solankes with all our family friends itching to spend their holidays in ‘IGBOBI’ because of the tight bonds we all had.

We all looked forward to 4pm then so we could ride bicycles(of which you and i were always coming tops). Wonderful times we spent playing football, you were a marvelous goalkeeper and transformed yourself to the best defender ever when you got older.

You had an amazingly artistic mind and this is evident by how many games you came up with back then. Crime City Chase, robocop and ninja turtles(on paper) e.t.c.

seun and bassey wayyyyy back.

Our days in Kings college when your dad took us all in the morning and my dad came to pick us up in the afternoon.

Even though we were not in the same arm, we maintained our friendship and when femi and i were chucked off into boarding house i remember times when i was on your neck to go to my folks to send us pocket money and food(laughs) and you never complained and i still believe i owe you for that.

We started A’ Level classes  and wrote the exams together and proceeded to medical school but in different institutions. I must confess that this brought a strain in our closeness as the distance between both schools coupled with the fact that we hardly came home because of the nature of our courses. I thank God we pulled through.

You started your Housemanship before me at LUTH as i remember you received the call up letter when we were both watching a football match during the 2010 world cup.

I rounded up my program and quickly rushed to come join you at LUTH and when this eventually came to pass i felt xo confident and comfortable knowing you were there for me.

My dreams Alas! wont come true. 😦

As i was about to resume, you left the shores of this earth.

I miss you everyday and it is impossible for me to forget you.

Many other people that knew you have also given wonderful testimonies to how a wonderful and caring friend you were.

Your Legacy Lives on.

If you were around today, you would have been 25yrs old but i still celebrate and continue to pray for your soul rests in perfect peace.

@bule_jr: skiiii, i miss you, you taught me how to drive and you were the other senior brother my mum didn’t birth. I know you are in a better place. Continue to rest in Peace.

Death has never hit home for my brother and i until bassey left us. You wont know the value of life until it happens to someone really close to you.
Live your life like everyday is your last. You don’t know when you might have to go see the Master. Always be ready.

 

at 9.00pm this day bassey was gone 😦

6 responses to “Adieu Dr. Bassey Obono

  1. Rily dnt no wat 2 say but RIP bassey U̶̲̥̅̊ were a true friend, rare in this time & age, humble and had no prejudice against anyone, U̶̲̥̅̊ will be missed, U̶̲̥̅̊ showed dat d mst imprtnt tins in lyf r d simple tins care 4 frnds & love 4 family, I m jst left wit memories of soccer sunday @ igbobi, LUTH & fun tyms we had, dis memories will b cherished till grey haired days or wen God says its tyme………….bt 4 nw bassey my frnd in d little tym U̶̲̥̅̊ spnt wit us I wld say dat U̶̲̥̅̊ r a LEGEND.
    Gone bt nt forgotten! RIP.

  2. Breakfast: Body by Vi shake 200 calories Snack: 3
    oz. It is only the fist step, their are additional lifestyle changes that people should
    commit to in order to keep the weight off one it s gone. And not just because she’s wearing those stilt high heels but because she’s got muscle there.

  3. My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of
    the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve
    been using Movable-type on various websites for about a year and am worried about switching to another platform.
    I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress
    content into it? Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

Leave a Reply

